ITIL® Intermediate Certifications - IT Service Management

  • Qualification structure
  • Service Lifecycle modules
  • Service Capability modules
  • My ITIL

The ITIL® Intermediate Level has a modular structure with each module providing a different focus on IT Service Management. You can take as few or as many Intermediate qualifications as you need. The Intermediate modules go into more detail than the Foundation certification and focus on different areas of the framework.

The ITIL Intermediate certifications are divided into two categories – Service Lifecycle and Service Capability.

Some may wish to concentrate on one set of modules, but you can choose to select modules from both the Service Lifecycle and Service Capability streams in order to combine management and technical knowledge.

The ITIL Intermediate certifications are available to anyone that has passed their ITIL Foundation exam. It is recommended that you have prior exposure to basic concepts in IT and at least two years’ professional experience working in IT Service Management before undertaking any of the ITIL Intermediary modules.

In order to complete one of the ITIL Intermediate certifications, you need to attend training run by one of our Accredited Training Organizations. You cannot self-study and then take the examinations.

Service Lifecycle modules are most relevant to those who have, or are looking for, a management or team leader role that requires management of different areas or work across different teams.

All the modules within the Service Lifecycle category are suitable for those intending to focus on the process and practice elements used, and the management capabilities needed to deliver quality Service Management practices.

The Service Lifecycle modules are:

The Service Capability modules are most applicable to those who are looking to gain specialized, knowledge in one or more processes, with focus on the day-to-day execution of ITIL practices and how they interact.

The Service Capability modules are:

I've passed my ITIL Intermediate exam - what next?

One year’s subscription to My ITIL is included with your ITIL Intermediate certificate. My ITIL is an online subscription to the latest resources and content helping you to apply what you have learnt during the ITIL Foundation exam to the workplace, as well as developing your skills and knowledge in line with future innovations in IT service management.

My ITIL gives you access to:

  • Online subscription to the ITIL Practitioner official guidance (until 31 December 2018) and templates to help you progress your ITIL journey
  • Exclusive white papers
  • CPD tools to map out a professional development path
  • Professional endorsement through a digital badge aligned to your ITIL Intermediate certificate.

ITIL Intermediate Digital BadgeSuccessful candidates will be contacted by AXELOS with a discount code. Candidates must have opted-into AXELOS’ Successful Candidates Register upon exam registration to be contacted. If you have any queries, please email [email protected].

You can also use our ITSM Careers Path to help you plan your progress.

Find a Training Provider