Sign in

Purpose of the ITIL v3 Certification

The ITIL Intermediate certification has a modular structure with each module providing a different focus on IT Service Management. You can take as few or as many Intermediate qualifications as you need. The Intermediate modules go into more detail than the Foundation certification, and provide an industry-recognized certification.

The ITIL v3 Intermediate modules play a key role for those professionals who want to transition to the ITIL 4 scheme. Its content will benefit end learners who are progressing on their ITIL journey. Professionals with a solid ITIL v3 grounding who move onto ITIL 4 will be in a strong position to help their organisation evolve their service management.

The principles, processes and activities covered within the Service Lifecycle and Service Capability modules provide essential knowledge that will contribute to a better comprehension of ITIL 4 concepts reflected on the updated framework.

This knowledge will help to:

  • integrate key concepts existing in both versions
  • understand how they interact, what remains core and what has evolved
  • keep supporting professionals with the challenges faced in their work environment.
  • End learners who achieve 17 credits from the current ITIL v3 credit system will be able to take the ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) transition module in order to move to the new scheme without needing to take the MALC exam.

The ITIL Intermediate certifications are divided into two categories – Service Lifecycle and Service Capability.

Some may wish to concentrate on one set of modules, but you can choose to select modules from both the Service Lifecycle and Service Capability streams in order to combine management and technical knowledge.

The ITIL Intermediate certifications are available to end learners who have passed their ITIL v3 Foundation* or ITIL 4 Foundation exam. It is recommended that end learners have prior exposure to basic concepts in IT and at least two years’ professional experience working in IT Service Management before undertaking any of the ITIL Intermediary modules.

To learn what ITIL Intermediate certifications best relate to your desired job role and skills, use our ITIL Intermediate Training Navigator to find the certifications matching your requirements.

*ITIL v2 Foundation + v3 Bridge will be accepted until ITIL v3 has been discontinued.

Booking an Exam Where Pre-Requisites Apply

Please ensure that before you book an exam where a prerequisite is required, that you hold verified proof of completion of that prerequisite (i.e. certificate, or letter from AXELOS or former Examination Institute confirming you hold a current certification). Your examination results will be withheld until the correct prerequisite is provided to PeopleCert. If you are unable to provide the required prerequisite, then you will need to successfully complete the prerequisite before the higher-level exam result is released.

In order to complete one of the ITIL Intermediate certifications, you need to attend training run by one of our Accredited Training Organizations. You cannot self-study and then take the examinations.

Service Lifecycle Modules

Service Lifecycle modules are most relevant to those who have, or are looking for, a management or team leader role that requires management of different areas or work across different teams.

All the modules within the Service Lifecycle category are suitable for those intending to focus on the process and practice elements used, and the management capabilities needed to deliver quality Service Management practices.

The Service Lifecycle modules are:

Service Capability Modules

The Service Capability modules are most applicable to those who are looking to gain specialized, knowledge in one or more processes, with focus on the day-to-day execution of ITIL practices and how they interact.

The Service Capability modules are:

Keep Up-to-Date With My ITIL

One year’s subscription to My ITIL is included with your ITIL Intermediate exam. My ITIL is an online subscription to the latest resources and content helping you to apply what you have learnt during the ITIL Foundation exam to the workplace, as well as developing your skills and knowledge in line with future innovations in IT service management.

My ITIL gives you access to:

  • Online subscription to various Axelos ITSM publications and templates to help you progress your ITIL journey
  • Exclusive white papers
  • CPD tools to map out a professional development path
  • Professional endorsement through a digital badge aligned to your ITIL Intermediate certificate.

Candidates will be contacted by Axelos with a discount code. You must have opted into Axelos’ Successful Candidates Register upon exam registration to be contacted. If you have any queries, please email