PRINCE2 2017 Project Management Certifications

  • Certification levels
  • Taking the exams
  • Examination languages
  • PRINCE2 Membership

The PRINCE2 2017 certification scheme has two main levels, Foundation and Practitioner. At Practitioner level, there is PRINCE2 Practitioner and PRINCE2 Agile Practitioner certifications.

Candidates can take PRINCE2 2017 training courses via one of AXELOS' Accredited Training Organizations (ATOs) or self-study for all the certification levels. AXELOS is not a training organization or exam body and so prices for training courses and exams are set by our partners and will vary.

Use our training search to find a training provider.

Update to PRINCE2 Best Practice Guidance

In 2017 AXELOS revised the PRINCE2 guidance and certification scheme. This page provides details of the certification for the revised 2017 version. See our PRINCE2 2009 section for details of how to find and take training in the previous version of the certification.

From 1 January 2018, all English versions of the Foundation and Practitioner exams are based on the 2017 edition. It will still be possible to take the 2009 version of the exams in langages other than English until AXELOS states otherwise.

See our PRINCE2 2017 Update page for more information.

PRINCE2 2017 Foundation Examination

PRINCE2 2017 Practitioner Examination

PRINCE2 Agile Practitioner Examination

Maintaining your PRINCE2 2017 Practitioner Certification

There are two routes towards obtaining the PRINCE2 2017 certifications; you can:

  • sit the exams at the end of a training course with an Accredited Training Organization (ATO), or
  • study privately and then book the exam without a training course with PeopleCert, our PRINCE2 Examination Institute.

 PRINCE2 2017 Training costs

AXELOS is not a training organization or exam body and so prices for training courses and exams are set by our partners and will vary.

For details of training courses, use our search facility to locate a training provider.

Route to certification

You must pass the Foundation examination before taking any Practitioner examination.

If you have previously passed the Foundation examination or one of the certifications approved as prior learning, you qualify to take the Practitioner examinations without needing to re-sit the Foundation.

Read our guide (PDF, 91KB) to which certifications are now recognized as approved prior learning for the PRINCE2 Practitioner and Agile Practitioner qualification.

If you take the Foundation exam only, and pass, you will receive a Foundation examination certificate. However, if you take both the Foundation and Practitioner exam on the same day, and pass both, you will receive a Practitioner examination certificate only. This does not apply if you sit PRINCE2 Foundation and PRINCE2 Agile Practitioner in the same day.

Sample Papers

Practice for your PRINCE2 2017 exams by testing yourself with these Sample Papers.

*'PMP' and 'CAPM' are registered marks of Project Management Institute, Inc. PMI is not affiliated with AXELOS. PMI does not endorse any AXELOS Qualifications.

The PRINCE2 2017 Foundation and Practitioner examinations are currently only available in English.

AXELOS has now begun the translation of the new guidance and the corresponding examinations (Foundation and Practitioner) in the following six languages.

  • Danish
  • Dutch
  • French
  • German
  • Norwegian
  • Polish

The schedule for the release of examinations can be found below:

PRINCE2 2017 translation schedule

Upon release of the updated translations, there will be a period of transition where both the 2009 and 2017 versions of PRINCE2 will be allowed to be taught and examined. From 31 March 2019 the 2009 version will no longer be available in Danish, Dutch, French, German, Norwegian and Polish.

For more information please read the PRINCE2 2017 Update FAQs.

AXELOS has also announced the translation of an additional four languages for the PRINCE2 2017 Update. They are:

  • Chinese
  • Czech
  • Italian
  • European Spanish.

AXELOS will confirm the transition period for the additional four translations in due course.

PRINCE2 Agile Examinations are currently available in English, German and Polish.

PRINCE2 Membership included with all PRINCE2 2017 Practitioner Exams

Anyone taking a PRINCE2 2017 exam is eligible to claim one year’s PRINCE2 Membership. Membership is one way in which candidates can maintain their PRINCE2 2017 Practitioner certification. By including membership with the exam AXELOS is making it easier for candidates to remain current.

Maintaining your PRINCE2 Practitioner Certification

Your PRINCE2 Practitioner certificate is valid for three years, at the end of which you will need to either re-sit the Practitioner exam or you can maintain your certificate through membership. To remain current through membership you must meet the following criteria within the three-year period:

  1. Join membership within three months of passing your exam and remain in membership for the three-year period by renewing the subscription each year.
  2. Maintain the PRINCE2 digital badge awarded as part of membership for the three year period. Candidates will need to record 20 CPD points each year, in the prescribed categories, for the badge to be extended on renewal.

By satisfying the above criteria you will be issued a new certificate that is valid for a further three years.

Maintain your PRINCE2 with PRINCE2 Membership
 (Click image to enlarge)

How to activate your PRINCE2 Membership

Once you pass your exam, PeopleCert, your Examination Institute (EI), will transfer your details to appear on AXELOS’ Successful Candidate Register. You will need to opt-in to appear on this register and you can do this through your EI. AXELOS will email you directly with an invitation to activate your membership and instructions to claim your digital badge. If you have sat a PRINCE2 Practitioner 2017 exam and have not received your invitation to join please email [email protected].

Why should you choose PRINCE2 Membership?

Membership provides you with a flexible way to keep your certification up-to-date, giving you support throughout your career beyond simply taking an exam. There are also lots of additional benefits to joining PRINCE2 Membership, these include:

  • Access to the latest best practices across our PPM portfolio
  • Content to help you progress into programme management through our MSP certification
  • PRINCE2 templates and toolkits to help you apply best practices in the workplace
  • Project management software to help you manage your projects
  • Exclusive access to practical guidance, white papers and discussion papers.

At the end of year one your membership fee will be £50 plus VAT per annum.

Find out more about AXELOS Membership.

Find a Training Provider