ITIL® Maturity Model

The ITIL® Maturity model and self-assessment service has been developed to help organizations improve their IT service management within the ITIL framework.

There are two different ITIL Maturity models available:

  • High level self-assessment service trial
  • Full self-assessment service.

The model contains a set of 30 questionnaires – one questionnaire for each of the 26 ITIL processes and four ITIL functions.

Each questionnaire includes:

  • Process/function demographic questions
  • Process/function-generic attributes
  • Process/function-specific attributes
  • Process/function outcomes and outputs
  • Interfaces and inputs.

The service calculates the maturity of each process or function from answers to the questions within these questionnaires. All questions have two possible responses – ‘Yes’ or ‘No’ and each question corresponds to one of the five levels of maturity defined by ITIL:

  1. Initial
  2. Repeatable
  3. Defined
  4. Managed
  5. Optimized.

A process or function that is completely absent is considered to be at Level 0 (Chaos).

ITIL Maturity Model: full self-assessment service

ITIL Maturity Model: high-level self-assessment service

ITIL Maturity Model documents and further information